You were just in accident and are at fault. The other driver
and two passengers in the other driver’s vehicle are injured, and the
other driver’s car is totaled. Good news! The other driver
has Uninsured Motorist Coverage which will pay for $10,000 in medical
bills! The bad news – the medical bills plus the cost to replace
the driver’s vehicle tops $100,000. That makes you liable for
$90,000 in medical and replacement costs.
This scenario could become your reality if you are not insured or
underinsured, which is why Idaho requires that all motor vehicles be
insured by at least the minimum liability coverages. In this
scenario, your insurance would have covered most expenses incurred,
assuming you had the minimum liability amounts, and would have covered
the entire expense, assuming you were prudent enough to purchase higher
In addition to the personal and financial repercussions that will ensue
when you do not have at least the minimum required liability coverage,
Idaho’s no-insurance laws require you to provide proof of financial
responsibility for one year if you are a first-time offender.
This means that a costly SR-22 Certificate must be obtained from your
insurance agent .
If you’re a repeat no-insurance offender and it is your second
violation within a five-year period, expect to pay the cost of the
SR-22 Certificate for three-years. The costs of violating the Idaho
no-insurance law has, at this point, far exceeded what you would have
paid if you had obtained Idaho auto insurance in the first place!